Frequently Asked Questions
Rummikub Frequently Asked Questions
Please be aware that there have been several versions of Rummikub instructions over the years. Rummikub is an ever changing game and the rules have evolved over time. Our answers to the frequently asked questions below are based on the most up to date instructions. This can sometimes cause disagreements on the rules of game play. If disagreements arise, we advise players come to an agreement at the beginning of the game and play by whatever "House Rules" are discussed and agreed upon before starting.
NOTE: In some rules you cannot add to other sets already on the table during this initial play, even after you have reached the sum of 30. You must wait until your next turn to start adding tiles from your rack to sets already on the table.
In other versions of Rummikub it states that you can use the corresponding tile from the your rack or you can use a suitable tile from the table. This will need to be discussed before playing so there is no confusion.
NOTE : Depending on the rules you are following, the rule of having to use or more tiles from your rack may not be present.
Group example (7-7-7) or (7-7-7-7)
Run example (1-2-3) or (1-2-3-4)
Players who lost total the tiles on their rack and total it as a minus (negative) amount. The winner adds all the tiles from all the players and receives that number as a positive (plus) amount.
Watch out! Keeping a Joker on your rack is a good strategy; however if you risk being caught with it on your rack when someone yells "Rummikub" you will earn a penalty of 30 points.